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Proposed Rulemakings

= BUILDING CODES

The CAPITAL DEVELOPMENT BOARD
proposed amendments to lllinois
Energy Conservation Code (71 IAC
600; 48 Ill Reg 8158) changing the
name of the Part to lllinois Energy
Codes and implementing a new
Stretch Energy Code as required by
the Energy Efficient Building Act. The
Stretch Energy Code, which has
separate provisions for commercial
and residential buildings, will apply to
all projects administered by CDB on or
after 7/1/24. Municipalities and
counties may adopt the Stretch Energy
Code if they choose. The Commercial
Stretch Energy Code incorporates
(with  lllinois-specific modifications
and amendments) provisions of the
2024 Final Draft version of the
International Energy Conservation
Code (IECC). The Residential Stretch
Energy Code incorporates, with
amendments and modifications, the
2021 IECC. The existing lllinois Energy
Conservation Code, which establishes

minimum energy efficiency
requirements for all building projects
in Illinois and sets minimum standards
for municipal or county building
codes, is also updated to include the
2021 IECC. Other provisions allow for
public comment at meetings of the
Illinois Energy Conservation Advisory
Council. Those affected by this
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rulemaking include contractors for
State building projects and units of
local government that adopt the
Stretch Energy Code.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments through 7/22/24:
Robert Coslow, CDB, 401 S. Spring St.,
3rd  Floor, Stratton Building,
Springfield IL 62706, 217-685-4079,
CDB.EnergyCodes®@illinois.gov

= VIDEO GAMING

The ILLINOIS GAMING BOARD
proposed amendments to Video
Gaming (General) (11 IAC 1800; 48 I
Reg 8252) that are intended to clarify
and better enforce the Video Gaming
Act’s prohibition against vertical
integration (ownership or control of
both a gaming establishment and a
terminal operator). The rulemaking
limits all licensees to a single tier of the
video gaming industry, meaning that
individuals or entities must be
licensed as terminal handlers,
technicians, or sales agents, or as
licensed establishments (locations
that host video gaming), but cannot be
licensed as both. An owner or person
of significant influence or control
(PSIC) over a terminal operator may
not enter into a use agreement with
an immediate family member who is
an owner or PSIC of a licensed
establishment. A licensed establish-

(cont. page 2)

ADOPTED RULES: Rules adopted by agencies this week. EMERGENCY RULES: Temporary rules adopted for no more than 150 days.

PROPOSED RULEMAKINGS: Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a First Notice public comment period of at least 45 days.
PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.

= - Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities and/or non-profit organizations. Agencies must consider

comments from these groups and attempt to minimize regulatory burdens on them.

QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: Submit mail, e-mail or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.
RULE TEXT: First Notice proposed text, emergency rule and peremptory rule text is available at the Secretary of State website
(https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/home.html) or at the lllinois General Assembly website (http://www.ilga.gov) under “lllinois

Register”. Second Notice text for proposed rulemakings (original version with any changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is

available at the JCAR website.
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ment is also prohibited from entering
a use agreement with a landlord who
is also a terminal operator. Sales
agents may not solicit use agreements
from locations owned or controlled by
that sales agent’s immediate family.
Franchisors of an establishment will
be considered PSICs of the
establishment (barred from being
licensed as terminal operators) if the
establishment obtains more than 50%
of its revenue from net terminal
income. Use agreements that do not
comply with these provisions may
remain in effect until they expire, but
cannot be renewed. Licensed video
gaming locations, terminal operators
and technicians, and their employers
or landlords are affected.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments through 7/22/24:
Daniel Gerber, IGB, 160 N. LaSalle St.,
Chicago IL 60601, 312-814-4700,
IGB.RuleComments@illinois.qov

= TAXES

The DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
proposed amendments to Retailers’
Occupation Tax (86 IAC 130; 48 Il Reg
8276) implementing statutory sales
tax exemptions under the
Manufacturing Illinois Chips for Real
Opportunity (MICRO) Act and the
Reimagining Energy and Vehicles in
Illinois (REV) Act. Both Acts and this
rulemaking allow businesses that have
obtained a MICRO or REV certificate
from the Department of Commerce
and Economic Opportunity to be
exempt from State and local sales
taxes on qualifying building materials
for the certified project. Examples of
qualifying and non-qualifying building
materials are included. Procedures for
filing annual reports with DOR are also

included, along with criteria for
suspending or revoking the tax
exemption for failure to file the report
or for unlawfully using an exemption
certificate. Businesses that qualify for
MICRO or REV tax credits and
exemptions are affected.

DOR also proposed amendments to
Gas Revenue Tax Act (86 IAC 470; 48 1lI
Reg 8307) and Telecommunications
Excise Tax (86 IAC 495; 48 Il Reg 8313)
prohibiting natural gas suppliers and
telecommunications providers from
imposing additional charges on
customers who are certified under the
MICRO or REV Acts to cover the cost of
these taxes. The Part 495 rulemaking
also adds statutory language
implementing the federal Internet Tax
Freedom Act and other provisions of
State statute. Natural gas suppliers,
telecommunications providers, and
businesses certified under the MICRO
or REV Acts are affected.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments on the 3 DOR
rulemakings through 7/22/24: Parts
130, 470 Katarzyna Kowalska, DOR,
101 W. Jefferson St., Springfield IL
62794, 217-782-2844,
REV.GCO@illinois.qgov

SOS PARKING

The SECRETARY OF STATE proposed
amendments to the Part titled
Collection of Fees (92 IAC 1003; 48 IlI
Reg 8323) that establish a process for
collecting fees related to parking
citations at the Capitol Complex.
Persons who receive citations for
unauthorized parking in spaces that
require a permit and do not pay the
S50 fine will receive two notices, 30
days apart, by regular mail. If the fine
is not paid within 15 days after the
date of the first notice, the person’s
vehicle registration will be tagged and
cannot be renewed until the fine is
paid. If the fine is not paid within 30
days of the second notice, the vehicle
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registration will be suspended, unless
the vehicle owner demonstrates that
the amount of the fine is in dispute,
that good faith efforts to pay the fine
have been made, or that the amount
owed is S5 or less.

ADULT DRIVER EDUCATION

SOS also proposed an amendment to
Online Only Adult Driver Education
Course Provider Certification (92 IAC
1066; 48 Il Reg 8331) that updates the
address for course providers to submit
surety bonds to the SOS Commercial
Driver Training Section office.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments on the 2 SOS
rulemakings through 7/22/24: Pamela
Wright, SOS, 298 Howlett Bldg.,
Springfield IL 62756, 217-785-3094,
pwright@ilsos.qgov

STATE RETIREMENT

The STATE EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT
SYSTEM proposed amendments to
The Administration and Operation of
the State Employees’ Retirement
System of lllinois (80 IAC 1540; 48 IlI
Reg 8339). This rulemaking clarifies
that a Tier 2 System member who is
vested with law enforcement duties
may retire at age 55 with 20 years of
service in any of the following
positions: lllinois State Police officer;
Conservation Police officer; lllinois
Commerce Commission police officer;
investigator for the Department of
Revenue, lllinois Gaming Board, Office
of the Attorney General, or Secretary
of State; or arson investigator. The
rulemaking also codifies the System’s
process for filling a vacancy in an
elected member trustee position.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments through 7/22/24:
Jeff Houch, SERS, 2101 S. Veterans
Parkway, PO Box 19255, Springfield IL
62794-9255, 217-524-8105, fax 217-
557-3943, jeff.houch@srs.illinois.gov




JCAR Meeting Action

At its 6/4/24 meeting, the Joint Committee on Administrative
Rules approved the following actions. Proposed rulemakings from
this agenda that are not listed below received No Objection and
may be adopted by their agencies. Emergency rules not acted
upon at this meeting may be reconsidered at later meetings.

EXTENSIONS
JCAR, with the concurrence of the respective agencies, extended
the Second Notice periods for the following rulemakings an
additional 45 days. These rulemakings will be considered again at
the July 16 JCAR meeting.

Department of Children and Family Services, Placement and
Visitation Services (89 IAC 301; 47 Il Reg 17563)

Department of Human Services, Fiscal/Administrative
Recordkeeping and Requirements (89 IAC 509; 48 Ill Reg 2769)

Department of Innovation and Technology, Uniform Electronic
Transaction Act (14 IAC 2000; 48 Ill Reg 1122)

Illinois State Board of Education, Career and Technical Education
(23 IAC 256; 48 Il Reg 2297)
Department of Transportation, Diesel Emission
Program (92 IAC 460; 47 Ill Reg 15634)

Inspection

POSTPONEMENT
JCAR postponed action on the following proposed rulemaking,
which is currently on extended Second Notice, until the July 16
meeting:

Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Cannabis
Regulation and Tax Act (68 IAC 1291; 47 Ill Reg 12526)



Adopted Rules

DRIVER'’S LICENSES & IDs

The SECRETARY OF STATE adopted
amendments to Issuance of Licenses
(92 IAC 1030; proposed at 48 Ill Reg
3092), effective 5/24/24 at 48 Il Reg
8386, updating and clarifying
conditions for remote renewal of
driver’s licenses and identification
cards. A driver’s license may be
renewed online every other renewal
period when a written test is not
required and an ID card can be
renewed online twice in succession. A
licenses or ID card cannot be renewed
online when: the holder of a driver’s
license is under 21 or over 78 years old
(previously, under 22 or over 74) or
the holder of an ID card is under 21 or
over 64; the license or card has been
expired more than one year; the last
renewal of a driver’s license or last 2
renewals of an ID card were
completed remotely; the holder is
only authorized to be in the U.S.
temporarily and must submit updated
documentation to remain in the U.S.;
the holder’s Social Security Number, if
any, cannot be verified; the holder
currently has a valid license or ID card
from another state; or the holder’s file
does not contain a suitable image.
Online renewal of a driver’s license is
also not allowed if the driver holds a
school bus permit or a Commercial
Driver’s License with a hazardous
materials endorsement; the driver is
74 or older and holds a license with a
farm vehicle restriction; the driver is
required to submit a medical report or
has been involved in an accident that
caused death, injury or property
damage; or the driver is under age 26
and has not fulfilled an applicable
Selective Service registration
obligation. An ID card also cannot be

renewed remotely when the
cardholder has changed their legal
name, gender or address since

issuance or the most recent renewal,
or if the holder also has a homeless

person or person with a disability ID
card. Photos and signatures must be
updated at least every 12 years on a
driver’s license and every 15 years on
an ID card unless the holder has a
military or civilian employee deferral.
Exceptions to the photograph and
signature requirement due to religious
convictions, facial disfigurements, or
temporary out of State residence
apply only to driver’s licenses; the
religious head covering exception
applies to both driver’s licenses and ID
cards.

= AUTO INSURANCE

SOS also adopted amendments to the
Part titled Illinois Safety Responsibility
Law (92 IAC 1070; proposed at 47 Il
Reg 18974), effective 5/24/24 at 48 IlI
Reg 8404, implementing Public Act
103-179, which requires all vehicle
insurance companies to transmit
proof of insurance documents, as well
as cancellations of such policies, to
SOS exclusively by electronic means.
(Formerly, insurance companies could
file these documents electronically or
by submitting paper forms.) Auto
insurance providers are affected by
this rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies of the 2
SOS rulemakings: Pamela Wright, SOS,
298 Howlett Bldg., Springfield IL
62756, 217-785-3094,
pwright@ilsos.qgov

= BEHAVIOR ANALYSTS

The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION adopted
a new Part titled Behavior Analyst
Licensing Act (68 IAC 1376; proposed
at 48 lll Reg 2313) effective 5/23/24 at
438 11l Reg 8363, implementing PA 102-
953 (Behavior Analyst Licensing Act),
which institutes a system of licensing
for persons who provide Applied
Behavior Analysis (ABA) therapy for
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children with autism spectrum
disorders. The Part adopts the
professional standards and licensing
examinations of the national Behavior
Analyst Certification Board (BACB)
with  regard to training and
qualifications for licensed behavior
analysts (LBAs) and licensed assistant
behavior analysts (LABAs). The 500
hours of supervised experience
required by the Act is deemed
satisfied by meeting the field training
requirements established by the BACB
for a Board Certified Behavior Analyst
or Board Certified Assistant Behavior
Analyst. Persons who apply for either
license prior to 7/1/28 without the
required hours of supervised
experience may be considered for
licensure if they hold a graduate
degree (LBA) or bachelor’'s degree
(LABA) from an accredited college or
university in the field of behavior
analysis and have passed the BACB
licensing examination. The initial
licensing fee for an LBA is $400 and for
an LABA is $100; renewal fees are
S$300 and S$75, respectively. All
licenses expire on Oct. 31 of odd-
numbered years, and 30 hours of
approved continuing education (CE)
will be required every renewal period
beginning with the 2027 renewal
cycle. CE may be offered in person or
online. Approved CE sponsors include
the BACB, American Psychological
Association, any lllinois college or
university offering a degree in
behavior analysis, or other entities
approved by DFPR. Fees for CE
sponsors (other than State agencies,
universities or community colleges)
are $500 for initial approval and $250
for each 2-year renewal. Other
provisions address licensure by
endorsement, restoration of lapsed or
inactive licenses, waiver of CE
requirements for good cause,
unprofessional conduct and disciplin-
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(cont. from page 5)

ary actions, and the authority of DFPR
to grant individual variances from
these rules. Behavior analysts,
assistant behavior analysts, and their
employers are affected by this
rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies: Craig
Cellini, DFPR, 320 W. Washington St.,
2" Floor, Springfield, IL 62786, 217-
785-0810, fax 217-557-4451,
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov

CONTRACEPTIVE COVERAGE
The DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
adopted a new Part titled

Contraceptive Coverage (50 IAC 2014;
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 2033) effective
5/22/24 at 48 |l Reg 8381, which

implements lllinois Insurance Code
and other statutory requirements for
health insurance coverage of over the
counter (OTC) contraceptive drugs,
devices and products. Effective
1/1/25, all individual and group health
insurance plans, including
pharmaceutical-only and voluntary
health services plans, must cover OTC
contraceptives without requiring a
prescription as a precondition for
coverage.

Questions/requests for copies: Ryan
Gillespie, DOI, 320 W. Washington St.,
Springfield IL 62767-0001, 217-558-
2746, Ryan.Gillespie@Illinois.qgov

FOSTER CARE

The DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND
FAMILY SERVICES adopted
amendments to Authorized Child Care
Payments (89 IAC 359; proposed at 47

Il Reg 17575) effective 5/21/24 at 48
Il Reg 8346, aligning various
definitions with Title IV-E of the
federal Social Security Act (which
governs federal funding for foster

care, adoption, and kinship
guardianship services). This
rulemaking defines "child care
institutions," "foster care
maintenance payments," "foster
family homes," and "qualified

residential treatment programs" in
accordance with federal law, and also
adopts federal limitations on foster
care maintenance payments.

Questions/requests for copies:
Tamara Bristow, DCFS, 406 E. Monroe,
Station #65, Springfield IL 62701-
1498, 217-524-1983, fax 217-557-
0692, DCFS.Policy@illinois.qgov
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